Summer 2014 Agenda (Updated)

Again, welcome back to Always Sometime Never! Now that this summer season’s started off, I’ve been motivated to start reviewing some great shows. And this summer season has really given us a lot of those! Listed below are the anime that have interested me because of their premise, animation, the fact that they’re continuing seasons of something I’ve already seen, or I read their manga source material:

 

Among these shows, I am definitely watching  Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei, Captain Earth, and Haikyuu!!, which are in their second cour continuing from the Spring 2014 season, Free! -Eternal Summer-, Sword Art Online IISPACE☆DANDY 2, and Re:_Hamatora, which are all second seasons to anime I’ve already seen, Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun, which I read the manga of, and Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon: Crystal. Although I have a vague recollection of having seen parts of the original Sailor Moon anime during my childhood, my memories are spotty at best and I haven’t read the manga at all. But I’m definitely watching the remake since it’s an opportunity for me to finally get to know Usagi and the other Sailor Senshi and experience their story.

The rest of the anime mentioned above will be subjected to the 3-Episode Rule. Once I pick which other shows I’m sticking with and which ones I’m dropping, I’ll choose five or six anime to do episode-by-episode reviews of (UPDATE: I have chosen to do only four this Summer 2014 season, based on some really great first episodes. Maybe after the third episodes, I might chose to cover a fifth show. But for now, four is my limit). During the 3-Episode Rule process, I’ll post a collection of mini reviews of each of the first three episodes of all the shows listed above, excluding Mahouka, Captain Earth, and Haikyuu!! but including the other shows I’m definitely watching. To prevent the chaos of me covering too many shows or making my decision difficult, I’m limiting my reviews this season to anime that are not continuation seasons, meaning that I won’t be doing reviews of Free! -Eternal Summer-, Sword Art Online IISPACE☆DANDY 2, and Re:_Hamatora, but I may still possibly review Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon: Crystal depending on how the other shows go. At the end of the summer, I may possibly do an overall review of each of the shows I’ve seen this season.

I will be updating this list below with whichever shows I will definitely be covering this summer. It will also be included as the verdict to my post after watching the third episode of the anime subjected to the 3-Episode Rule.

  1. Barakamon
  2. Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun
  3. Tokyo Ghoul
  4. Tokyo ESP
  5. (optional)

But wait, there’s more! There are other things to look forward to this summer from me. Besides the anime reviews, I will be posting a Monthly Manga Recommendation at the end of each month, so look forward to my first recommendation this July 31st. Also, my reviews may be finding a second home at We Are Geeking Out, a cool website for all your geeky needs. They have two podcasts and also do reviews of anime, manga, comics, board games, and many others. Go check them out!

My next post will be my “First Episode First Impressions,” the first of three collections of mini-reviews for this summer season’s anime before the full episode-by-episode reviews. Just wait for it!

One thought on “Summer 2014 Agenda (Updated)

  1. Pingback: Summer 2014: Second Episode Following Up (Part 1) | Always Sometimes Never

Leave a comment